Invitation to Open Statistical Physics 2020
25 March 2020

Following the successful meetings in 2010 – 2019, the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the Open University is again hosting a one-day conference in 2020, organised by Michael Wilkinson (michael.wilkinson@open.ac.uk), Uwe Grimm (uwe.grimm@open.ac.uk), Jim Hague (jim.hague@open.ac.uk), Marc Pradas (marc.pradas@open.ac.uk) and Paul Upton (paul.upton@open.ac.uk). As well as being held at the Open University, it is the intention that it should be open to as wide a range of contributions as possible, and that the talks should include discussion of an open problem as well as presenting results.

Conference venue

The conference will be held on Wednesday 25 March 2020 at the Open University in Milton Keynes, Meeting Rooms 1 – 4 in the Michael Young Building. Follow the links for information about the Open University Milton Keynes campus at Walton Hall and directions and travel advice, as well as details of bus services between the campus and Milton Keynes Central station.

About the Conference

To facilitate the broadest possible communication, all participants are encouraged to contribute a presentation. Talks will be split between several parallel sessions. The format of presentations will be 30 minute slots (25 minutes presentation, 5 minutes questions and turnover), with potentially some shorter presentations as well.

The term 'statistical physics' is to be interpreted broadly. For instance, abstracts on topics related to biological applications, turbulence, financial mathematics, etc, are most welcome.

There will be a conference fee of £30 covering refreshments, lunch and administrative expenses; please see the registration page for details. Limited travel support may be available; please contact the organisers if you require financial assistance.

You are most welcome to attend without giving a presentation, but for catering purposes we would appreciate if you could let us know well in advance.

Please note that this year the website will only be updated shortly before the meeting. If you have any questions, please contact one of the organisers, or email Tracy Johns at tracy.johns@open.ac.uk.

Information on how to register can be found here.

A timetable for the day will be posted here in mid March. We expect to start at 10am and close around 4:30pm.

We are looking forward to see you at OSP2020!


Details of previous meetings in this series:
[OSP2019] [OSP2018] [OSP2017]
(more to follow)